Jerusalem by William Blake

Just last night, I heard a rendition of Jerusalem by William Blake

And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountains green?
And was the holy Lamb of God
On England’s pleasant pastures seen?

And did the Countenance Divine
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here
Among these dark satanic mills?

Bring me my bow of burning gold;
Bring me my arrows of desire;
Bring me my spear; O clouds, unfold!

Bring me my chariot of fire!

I will not cease from mental fight,
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand,
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England’s green and pleasant land.

and I got thinking about the last verse

I will not cease from my enviromental fight
Nor shall my screwdriver sleep in my hand,
Till we have built green clean energy
In England’s green and pleasant land.

Just how green are we? Are we doing enough?

2 Responses to “Jerusalem by William Blake”


  1. 1 mark reader December 18, 2010 at 15:53

    Are you a relative of michael kirby, of wheat (& lupin) phenology (& farming)? does he Tweet, or keep a blog?

    AllBest,
    M

    • 2 csljohnkirby December 19, 2010 at 16:43

      Mark,

      I am not a relative of the Michael Kirby you mention, but he seems like an intresting guy. I read a good piece on Thermosensitivity in Spring White Lupin, about three years ago.


Comments are currently closed.



CSL – John Kirby

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,464 other followers

Goodreads

Calender

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


